--- title: "Flow Version Control" slug: "flow-version-control" tags: ["Workflows"] updated: 2025-10-30T08:57:59Z published: 2025-10-30T08:57:59Z canonical: "support.controlup.com/flow-version-control" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://support.controlup.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Flow Version Control As your flows grow more complex and are often built collaboratively or evolve over time, ensuring visibility into changes becomes essential. Workflows provides built-in version control, allowing you to move back and forth between versions. This feature makes it easy to change your flow and revert to a previous version for any reason. You can troubleshoot issues with integrations or nodes, restore lost work, and manage contributions across teams. Version control significantly improves your organization’s: - Flow reliability - Collaboration - Debugging capabilities Each time you click **Save** while working on a flow, a new flow version is automatically created with a timestamp. ![flow Save button](https://cdn.document360.io/098100b7-b9da-4bea-b4b9-017140ab863e/Images/Documentation/WorkflowsSave(1).png) ## Version History Click the timestamp icon at the top of a flow to browse the version history of saved flow versions. ![Version history dropdown showing current and new versions of flow](https://cdn.document360.io/098100b7-b9da-4bea-b4b9-017140ab863e/Images/Documentation/WorkflowsVersions(1).png) The **Version History** dropdown displays the details of each flow version (date/time saved, by whom) in chronological order, with the most recent version listed first. You can click a version to view the changes made in read-only preview mode. To revert your current active flow to a previous version to edit in read-only preview mode, click **Restore this version**. You can also click the three dots next to a version > **Restore this version**. The **Run history** table on the **Run history** page displays the timestamp of the flow version used for each run of that specific flow. > [!NOTE] > Click Save! > > Note that you must click **Save** to save a version of a flow with the current timestamp. This ensures that the original version remains unedited.